With Waitwhile, we allow you to share Services, Resources, and Custom Data Fields between some or all of your locations. While this eliminates the need to recreate them individually for each location, it comes with the potential risk of making a change to a part of your Waitwhile set up that affects all locations associated with that Service, Resource, or Custom Data Field.

The Case of the Disappearing Resources

"All of my resources disappeared! They were just there yesterday!"

We know this can be scary, especially if your Waitwhile setup relies on resources in order to function properly. There are typically 2 different scenarios in which Resources can "disappear"

  1. The assigned locations for the Resource or Resource Category were changed.

    1. In this case, the Resource Category or Individual Resource thankfully still exists, but it might be missing from one or more Locations that it should be on. This is an easy fix - just find which location the Resources/Service/Custom Field is still on, then Edit it to add it back to other Locations.

  2. The Resource Category or individual resource was completely deleted/removed from a location - which removed it from ALL locations.

    1. The Resources/Service/Custom Field has been deleted. In that case, you'll need to reach out to the Waitwhile Tech Support team to do an "Account Restore" from an account backup*.

Not Sure Which Scenario It Is?

No Problem! Reach out to a member of your team that is a Waitwhile account Owner (a user with an Owner role who has access to all locations), and ask them to go through each location to check and see if the missing Resources/Service/Category/Custom Field is hiding out in any of the other Locations.

If you're able to track down the missing Resource or Resource Category on one of your locations, you can add them back:

  1. Select Edit from the 3-dot menu next to the Resource (or Category) to open the Edit Resource modal

  2. Click Show advanced settings

  3. under Choose Locations, select the locations that the Resource (or Category) had been removed from

  4. Don't forget to Save!

If it's a Resource Category, once you've added the Category back to the correct Locations, you will then need to do the same thing for each individual Resource that was in the category on each Location that it was removed from.

If you have a lot of locations that each had different individual resources within the category, you may want to consider reaching out to Waitwhile Support to do an "Account Restore" from an account backup*.

If you've gone through all the Locations and the missing Resources are nowhere to be found, then they were likely completely deleted. In this case, reach out to Waitwhile Support and they can assist with performing an Account Restore* from an account backup.

There are some risks of undoing any recent changes made to the account, which our Technical Support Specialist can go over with you before performing the restore.

Whodunit?!

Your business can use the Waitwhile API to look at your account's audit entries (sometimes referred to as "logs"), which track all types of events and changes that occur on an account and will list the User ID associated with any changes that were made.

For more information on how to use the API to get audit entries, head on over to the Waitwhile Developer Hub.

Did this answer your question?