All Collections
Resource & Services
Services
Adding and Configuring Services
Adding and Configuring Services

How services work and how to add them for your business

Johanna Toth-Gyalokay avatar
Written by Johanna Toth-Gyalokay
Updated over a week ago

Your business likely offers your customers different kinds of services and offerings. This will allow your customers to choose the reason for their visit.

Adding your services

To add Services, go to Settings > Services and click Add Service. Then complete the details in the dialog that shows up on your screen and click Save to finalize the process:

Service configuration options

For each Service, you have several configuration options:

  • Service Name: This is the name that you, as the business, will see it listed as.

  • Display Name: This is the name of the Service that the customer will see across your public pages.

Service Name or Display name? If you don't want your customers to see a different name from what you use internally, just leave the "Display name" field blank.

  • Category: If you have multiple Categories for the different types of Services you offer, you can create a new Category in tandem with the Service by typing its name into this field. If you already have some Categories defined, they will show up in a drop down list.

Do I need Categories? You do need at least one. However if you don't want to separate your Services further, you don't necessarily have to add more. Don't add multiple Categories unless you need your customer to pick from those Categories first before they select the Service. Adding many Categories can slow down the check-in process for your customer. Keep it simple.

  • Description: If you need to give any details to your guest about what this Service is for, this is where you can add them. We recommend keeping this short to keep your Check-In page neat and clean.

  • Duration: You can define how long it takes to complete this Service. If you don't have a specific time frame that your Service usually gets done by, we recommend leaving this blank.

  • Buffer Time: This time will be added to your Service Duration to allow you ample time to prepare for the next visit and make sure that your Bookings aren't overlapping. If you aren't using the Service duration, we recommend you keep this blank.

  • Price: Let your customers know ahead of time their expected costs.

  • Privacy: This toggle determines whether or not your customer can (public) or cannot (private) see this Service option in the sign up and booking flow.

  • Locations: You can make this Service available across multiple locations on your Waitwhile account.

Tip: If you need to remove a Service only from one location, simply just remove the location’s name from this part of the settings. When deleting a Service shared across multiple locations, it will be deleted from all the locations it is connected to.

  • Available for Booking/Waitlist: Make this option only available on your Waitlist or only 'bookable' by appointment only with this dropdown menu.

  • Max bookings per day: The number in this field defines how many appointments can be booked for one day with this service.

  • Order: Even if your Services change over time, input a numerical value to keep your Services in an order to your liking. By default, all Service's Order saved as blank will be assigned 0 and stay in the relative order created.

Tip: To rearrange the order of service categories, simply rename them and add numbers in front of their names, or name them in alphabetical order.

Tip: If you need to remove a Service only from one location, simply just remove the location’s name from this part of the settings. When deleting a Service shared across multiple locations, it will be deleted from all the locations it is connected to.

Once you have created your Service, you can go back to the settings and set up the availability hours. See how to set your service hours and availability.

Allow customers to pick multiple services

You can also allow your customers to select multiple services during the sign up and booking process. Just enable this option under Settings > nput fields like so:

Did this answer your question?