Assigning appropriate User Roles provides the ability to expand or restrict the actions and access of your users within the Waitwhile platform.

User Role Types

  • Owner - highest permissions level

  • Admin - has access to settings and analytics

  • Editor - does not have access to settings but can perform actions related to the Waitlist/Bookings

  • Reader - view only user who cannot make changes or perform any actions

Detailed Descriptions of User Roles

Owner

There must always be at least one account user with the Owner role on an account. Owner users have the highest permissions level allowing them to view and edit all locations on the account. Before a user is assigned the Owner role, you will want to be sure that they can be trusted with having complete access to all locations, settings and customer/visit data.

Ways a user can be made an Owner:

  • Being the original user to create the account

  • Use the API to create a new user with the Owner role, or update an existing user with the Owner role

  • Reach out to Waitwhile Support to create a new Owner user or to have an existing user updated as an Owner (request must be made or authorized by an existing account owner or account manager)

Admin

An Owner user can assign the Admin role when inviting a new user or when editing an existing user (Settings > Users).

  • Have the ability to manage locations and edit settings for all locations that they have been assigned to.

  • Can view/export Analytics, and Import/Export customers data (if included in your subscription plan).

  • Cannot make changes to Customer Info fields, Resources, or Services that are shared with other locations that they do not have access to

  • Can generate API keys but can only use them to access information from locations they have been assigned to

This role is best suited for a user who is responsible for managing one or more locations, or who needs to be able to view/export analytics or customer/visit data.

If you do not wish for an Admin to have access to certain settings, reach out to Waitwhile Support to have those settings disabled.

Editor

All new users (after initial creation of the account) are given the Editor role by default.

An Editor user does not have access to any location settings or analytics reporting, but can perform actions related to the Waitlist or Bookings, such as adding a person to the Waitlist, creating a new booking, changing the state of a visit (Serving/Completed/etc), and sending alerts.

This role is best suited for someone who has been tasked with managing an active Waitlist or the Booking calendar, but you do not want them to be able to make any changes to the location's settings, or to view/export account data.

Reader

Reader users are able to view everything that an Editor user can, however, they cannot perform any actions on the locations that they are assigned to.

This role is best suited for someone who needs to view the Waitlist or the Booking calendar, but you do not want them to be able to make any changes.

  • Any attempt to perform an action (ie. adding someone to a Waitlist, sending an alert, etc) will produce an "Insufficient scope" error.

  • A user can only be assigned the Reader role via the API, or by Waitwhile Support.

Linking a User to a Resource

Users can also be associated with a Resource. This allows them to actually log into Waitwhile as a Resource using their normal Waitwhile login email (or SSO if enabled).

To link a User to a Resource, any of the following three methods can be used:

  • select the User from the drop down in the Edit resource modal

  • select the Resource from the drop down in the Edit User modal

  • the user can connect themselves to an available Resource in the "Your profile" section under their Account Settings.

To unlink a User to a Resource, any of the following three methods can be used:

  • select the already linked User from the drop down in the Edit resource modal, and Save

  • select the already linked Resource from the drop down in the Edit User modal, and Save

  • the user can disconnect themselves from the Resource by selecting Unlink in the "Your profile" section under their Account Settings

Restricting a Resource-linked User

If you would like to restrict an Resource-linked Editor User from making changes to visits/bookings they have not been assigned to, you can enable the setting "Logged-in resources can only view guests they are eligible to serve" located under Settings > Resources > Advanced Settings.

Did this answer your question?